staying motivated/change it up a bit

Standard

Hello people. With winter ahead of us and cooler weather/cold fronts it is hard to stay motivated and stay on track. My usual exercise is a two mile walk followed with a cool down of stretching and yoga. But today or this morning I decided I wasn’t in the mood for a walk. When that happens it is better to change it up a bit.

I bought two new workout DVD’s last month and brought the stationary bike into the house. The other day I did what my husband calls “around the world”. It is a series of different types of exercises that became an inside cardio workout. Instead of lifting heavy weight you choose about three or four light weight exercises and do three-four sets of each. My routine went like this: one mile on stationary bike, twenty pushups (can do these on the knees), about twenty stretchy band exercises (I did bicep curls with my arms stretched out to the sides), and then I did about twenty squats using the doorknob for balance. I did about three sets of these. My husband reccamends four sets. Squats are real good for working out the butt and thighs. I try and follow up a workout with some gentle stretching and a little bit of yoga to cool down.

Yesterday I did my walk. But sometimes I don’t feel like walking. Like today so I used one of my new work out DVD’s by Denise Austin. She is such a charismatic, inspirational person. I just love her book, Fit and Fabulous after Fourty-and she has a slew of workout DVD’s on amazon-some very inexpensive.

I have made 7:00 pm my workout time in doors because I’m done with supper and I can work on bringing my blood sugar down so I won’t have to use so much insulin. Tonight I worked out with Denise’s bootcamp DVD and let me tell you it kicked my rear! A good investment. I highly reccamend spending some moola on some basic equipment to help you work out.

IMG_20141206_202342
IMG_20141206_210015

These are an inexpensive alternative to dumbbells

These are an inexpensive alternative to dumbbells

You can do it! If you keep working at it you can reach your goals!

Leave a Reply

