Getting back on track

For the past week I have fallen into depression and it has been cold and rainy outside and I just have not been motivated to do anything.  So when that happens what do we do?  I realized I was not taking all my medication properly so I have to get back on track about that.  I feel better today even though I slacked off on my meds.  This little turn of events has put my blood sugar in the sky high range and I have to stop it!

First things first.  First, I realize the problem.  Next is to do something about it…..  Set intentions.  An intention is something you desire to do.  My intention is to get off the couch and move my body. So here we have it:

Intention:  get back to exercising.

Next is to set goals under that intention:

1.  Move the exercise bike into the house and/or take the clothing and other things off the exercise bike so I can actually use the thing.

2. Sit on the bike , decide on a time, and start peddling.

3.  Take those aerobic dvd’s and put them in the dvd player and push play.

4. Get into gear first.  Put sweats on, sneakers, hair back in pony tail.

You can break it down even further and put tasks under each of those goals.

Example:

4.goal: ride exercise bike for twenty minutes.  tasks: Get into gear first. tasks…. Put sweats on, sneakers, hair back in pony tail.

tasks continued: Walk to exercise bike and get on….task:  start peddling. task:  Maybe warm up with a short walk because weather is improving.

We can do this!!!

O.K. I did it!!! I warmed up with ten miles on the exercise bike (stationary).  I know this sounds like a lot but it only took me ten minutes peddling at not so fast of a speed.  Then I went and walked about a mile, slowly because I have back problems today and I didn’t want to hurt myself.  It took me no more than twenty-five minutes to walk that mile, which was only down to the end of our road and back.  Usually I do two miles but my back is out of whack.  (Lower back pain probably from sitting too much).  I come back and was warmed up enough to take off my sweatshirt and hat once I got inside.  Then I cycled for another 10 miles on the stationary bike.  So the total workout cost me only about forty minutes.  I watched a work out video by Denise Austin while laying on the heating pad.

I would also like to add that the walk really felt good after I got out there and did it.  I just wore my sweats and made sure I had a hat on before I left.  The fresh air was good for me.  I’ve been cooped up too long in the house and my depression went away.  It was good to take things easy today, since it was my first day back into my routine.

Also, I would like to add that it helps to change things up a bit from time to time.  Riding the bike while watching t.v. was a break from the monotony of walking the two miles all at once.  Sometimes at the end of the day I’ll do another walk so my blood sugar will go down at night, I won’t have to take as much insulin , and I will have a good blood sugar reading in the morning.

Leave a Reply

