Loosing weight slow and steady….

Standard

I’ve been with these support groups who say, “I know if I loose weight I’ll just gain it right back.”  Well, all I can say to that is whether or not you think you can….your right.  I’ve lost 30 pounds over the past three years, and hey-it’s not rocket science.  All you have to do is eat less and move more.  I was a stay at home wife and mother and my children didn’t live with me so I put on 25 pounds because I had no children to chase after all day.  I got up to 275 pounds!  I did’t even try to loose it- but at first just listened to that group that said, “Well if I loose weight I’ll just gain it right back.”  I hate that give up attitude.  I lost 30 pounds in 2011 and I have kept it off for three years!  How did I do it? I just went to beauty college and just being out of the house and doing something caused me to loose 30 pounds.  I still have another 100 to go but I’m not done yet!  I gained back 10 pounds because I finished beauty school and I’ve been around the house and around the food more but  I just lost another 5 pounds since April!  How did I do it?  I started walking at least two miles a day, sometimes three.  I get up around 3:00-4:00 am and have some quiet time and about 6:30 or 7:00 am I go for my first walk.  Then before I go to bed and right before the sun goes down I do another walk, usually totaling out to be 3 miles total per day.

The weight is not coming off very fast, but just that little change in my lifestyle has caused me to loose five pounds.  So since last April I’ve lost that much.  If I keep this up in two years I could loose twenty pounds!  That’s two ten pounds sacks of taters ya’ll!  Then I think if I really really cut back on my eating-maybe I could double that and loose forty pounds in two years!  And I was told by more than one doctor that if I kept this up I could totally go off insulin!!!

It doesn’t take much to make a difference.  Just a two mile walk has worked wonders!  I’ve also shed about 2″ off my midsection!  Man, if I keep this up I can knit that sweater for myself and not have to make adjustments to make it larger!  I can get back into a size 1X and turn those 2X shirts into rag rugs!  (see my other blog about that-“my fiber nook”).

So get off that couch ya’ll and get moving!!!  And that will be one sandwich not two for lunch.  And one serving of potato salad, not two.  Just one hot dog, if you can-not two.  And when you go out to eat think portion size.   Don’t eat until your stuffed-eat until it’s enough and your stomach will adjust.  I never eat until I’m stuffed because it will take three big plate fulls to fill me up!  Avoid the all you can eat buffet.  I know-that Chinese food is good but those are the busters when it comes to our eating enough or staying with any diet plan.  Think portion size and move more-it’s not rocket science. Avoid the all you can eat places and eat less or just fill your plate up once.  You’ll love yourself more when you see yourself dropping the weight.

Quietwoman

Leave a Reply

